Skip to content

Statement by Leah Lawrence on Changes to SDTC’s Board of Directors

June 25, 2019

Ottawa, ON

Leah Lawrence made the following statement today, on the Government of Canada’s announcement of new Governor-In-Council appointees to SDTC’s Board of Directors:

“SDTC benefits greatly from the skills and deep private sector expertise of the members of our Board of Directors, in our effort to bring sustainable technologies in Canada to market.

“We owe a debt of gratitude to outgoing Chairman, Jim Balsille for his leadership, and for his guiding vision, that has reoriented SDTC towards supporting commercial outcomes while providing environmental stewardship. I thank him for his guidance and friendship over the years.

“I would also like to thank outgoing Board Member K. Ross Creelman for his efforts to advance clean technology in Canada.

“I welcome Annette Verschuren in her new role as Chairperson and look forward to working together as we continue to transform our operations to best serve our companies.

“I also welcome Erin Mahoney, and Jill Earthy who each bring a unique perspective to our team.

“SDTC’s investments across a spectrum of industries that fall outside the traditional definition of cleantech is a result of the knowledge and expertise in technology development and commercialization that our Board brings to the table.

“I look forward to continuing our important work to drive both positive environmental outcomes and economic growth.”